Dharmendra Pradhan is new Education Minister

Dharmendra Pradhan New Education Minister

NEW DELHI: On Wednesday, Dharmendra Pradhan was introduced as new Education Minister of India in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Cabinet on July 7 where as Annapurna Devi, Subhas Sarkar and Rajkumar Ranjan Singh elected as the new Ministers of State for Education.

Dharmendra Pradhan is a son of Debendra Pradhan who is a former union minister of state for surface transport.

In year 2009, he lost the assembly elections, and became the National Secretary of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and later The General Secretary. In year 2012, he successfully got elected to Rajya Sabha from Bihar state.

After our Prime Minister came into the power in the year 2014, Dharmendra Pradhan was given the ministry of petroleum and natural gas and he became the union minister with independent charge. In the reshuffling of PM Modi’s cabinet in year 2017, Dharmendra Pradhan was promoted and along with the ministry of petroleum and natural gas, he was given the additional charges of ministry of skill development and entrepreneurship. After the second victory of Bhartiya Janata Party in 2019, Dharmendra Pradhan was again elected as the cabinet member.

Latest Admission Alert


Institute of Management Studies (IMS), Ghaziabad is one of the Top 10 B-Schools in North India. Application invited for PGDM | Ph.D.


The institute is one of the top private B- Schools in Delhi-NCR. | Applications Closing soon

The former education minister, Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishat’ resigned on the same day due to health issues and replaced by Dharmendra Pradhan as the new Education Minister.

Subhash Sarkar who is a gynaecologist by profession and very experienced Member of Parliament from Bankura district in West Bengal,is now the Minister of State Education and will contribute in the Ministry of State Education.

Annapurna Devi which is known for her skills in classical Indian music and a great surbahar player is also elected as the Minister of State Education. She is also holding the position of National Vice President of Bhartiya Janata Party. Before 2019 she was in Rashtriya Janata Dal led by Lalu Prasad Yadav and was State President of Rashtriya Janata Dal in Jharkhand. However before 2019 Lok Sabha election, she quit Rashtriya Janata Dal and joined BJP.

Rajkumar Ranjan Singh is elected as the third Minister of State for Education. He belongs to a former royal family of Manipur and represents Manipur in the parliament. He graduated from Imphal’s Dhana Manjuri College and then gain a master’s degree in Geography from Guwahati University in 1972. Later on he got his PhD from Manipur in “problems of land use”. He taught in the colleges of Manipur and then he joined Manipur University as Assistant Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences. He also contributed as a registrar from 2004 to 2008 in the university. His political career started in 2013 when he joined BJP and participated in the 2014 Lok Sabha election but lost. Previously, Sanjay Dhotre was Minister of State for Education who resigned earlier on 7th of July, 2021.

Leave a Reply


Latest Admission Updates

Top Courses

Online Courses